Thread: start game programming

the Corvetter

start game programming

I am a C programmer learning Win32 API. I'd like to know how I could start learning to program games. Maybe not in DirectX, but how would I do it in DOS?

Any links to DOS game programming would be great. Thanks.

--Garfield the Great
    1978 Silver Anniversary Corvette

Gamedev.net has some excellent articles on game programming theory.

Fingerstyle Guitarist taylorguitarman's Avatar
    DOS is dead. Sorry.
    You may as well just start right in with the win32 api. I've been learning DirectX recently and it's really not that hard. And the win32 stuff you need to get started is very minimal.
    Start with simple things first though. Display a .bmp then make it move, bounce off of things etc.
    I could post some boiler plate code if you'd like. I've been doing this for a school project so the code is pretty clean and readable.
    If a tree falls in the forest, and no one is around to see it, do the other trees make fun of it?

Actually

Actually, I think starting with DOS-games is a good idea, since it is easier to understand and get an idea of the concept, and later move on to Direct X.
    MagosX.com

Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day.
    Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.

One question: why the hell would DOS be considered dead? just because M$ is deciding to phase it out of its operating systems by slow degrees does NOT mean that it isn't still useful - not only for beginners, but for people who might not be content with working with overblown APIs! i'm not attempting to put down DirectX and MFC, but i think that people who have an urge to find out how systems actually work should be applauded, instead of saying that they are 'fighting for a lost cause' in essence.