Thread: Book Poll

Book Poll

Ok, I think I will try and buy a book but I am not sure which one, so I am asking anyone who reads this to please post which C programming book they like the most(please remember that it has to be a C book, but then again what is this whole page about?)
    -Microsofts Visual C++ Introductory Kit-
    Current Projects: Learning Everything C.

Everyone has a photographic memory, some people just don't have any film.

When was the last time you went for a colon cleansing? Because quite frankly, you're so backed up with crap that it's spilling out your mouth

Unregistered
    Being a beginner myself, I have to recommend the book by Deitel, I think it is called "How to program in C". The book itself is devoted to C and C++. It is one of those book that does not treat you like an idiot, it actually teaches usefull things, not just printf and the use of variables. It teaches things like recursive functions, different types of sorting algorithms, etc. It also has special sections at the end of each chapter which are full of excercises that try to show you how everything you have just learned can be used in a real life situation, for example, in an airline company, or a bank, etc....

I give this book a 9 out of 10, compared to other books.
    Oh yeah, i almost forgot, throughout the book, it gives you tons of tips on how a certain technique is better then another, from the computer scientist's point of view, or from the code readability point of view, and most important, from the performance point of view.

It sounds great, thank you and keep the responses coming.

P.S. If you come back to this post or if anyone else has that book could you please post the complete Name and Author Name if it isn't too much trouble...I am trying to find it.
    Last edited by CAP; 07-04-2002 at 08:34 PM.

When was the last time you went for a colon cleansing? Because quite frankly, you're so backed up with crap that it's spilling out your mouth

on deitaling